Taking The Leap of Faith

Take The Leap of Faith

At junctions in our lives, there is always a conflict. One film that accurately captured this was Spirit. It is the story of a horse who wants his freedom. In the climax of the film, the horse must escape through the grand canyon. After a breath-taking chase, the horse and his rider must make a jump for the other side. The distance is really impossible but by putting everything on the line, they make it.

I feel like my life is at that point where I must reach deep within myself and pull off this last move. I think of all that has been done to get here starting in 2001. I am sorry for the people I have hurt along the way but I am also grateful for who I have become.

That is the reason why I go on! At this stage of my life, I am no longer afraid of failing. Been there done that! I am now more afraid of futility. That every road taken, every encounter and every lesson learned would have been for nothing. For me that is unacceptable.

The cold still gnaws at me. Yesterday I wore a singlet, a shirt and a sweater. When I was still feeling cold, I wore a suit jacket yet the cold is unabated. It gnaws at me but I am committed to the mission. So as the week ends and we begin our classes officially tomorrow, I make a commitment to give this all I’ve got. More than that I cannot give.

This is Truston Ailende. I am a member of the Zished Team and this is my 4th day in Kenya.

Leave a Reply

