Rules of Engagement

steve-jobs

Welcome everyone to a new month!

Yesterday, I made 48 posts! From now till Christmas week, we have 16 weeks so if I did a post every day till then, I would have reached 160 posts.

I have set out my mind to do this so that end, I will post on this blog everyday. I am currently at the Savannah Fund Accelerator in Nairobi, Kenya so I am sure this Nigerian will have some interesting content to post in the days to come.

Yesterday was the 1st Accelerator Session for the 2nd  Savannah Fund Accelerator at the iHub. We met the founder of the iHub and some guest speakers came in. It was also an opportunity for all the start-ups in the accelerator to meet each other. I was impressed by the quality of people in the room both as a programmer and as an entrepreneur.

The guests had us talk about our business ideas and asked some knockout questions that touched areas we weren’t looking at which was good as it is better to die among your allies. I learned a lot of lessons during the discussions. After the session, we went out to eat lunch. In the course of the lunch, it started raining.

It would be my first time experiencing rain in Kenya. Compared to the chill, the rain is a blessing. Being African, rains are also an auspicious way to begin anything.

Personally, I see the accelerator as Officer Candidate School. When this is over, I would no longer be that naive programmer who thought that a laptop could change the world. I will be a CTO of a world class enterprise based in Africa with solid support systems.

It will be hard I know. But I have never felt that I was at the right place at the right time with the right attitude as I feel at this moment. So no matter how hard it gets, I will give it all I’ve got.

This is Truston Ailende. I am a member of the Zished Team and this is my 6th day in Kenya.

Leave a Reply

