Day 40 in Kenya

nairobiHello,

Today is my 40th day in Nairobi, Kenya. I have gotten over my home sickness and fallen in love with Kenya. Nairobi is beautiful. Ghana felt a lot like Nigeria. Kenya feels different. Kenya feels like the country Nigeria should have grown up to be.

They still use coins as currency! In Ghana I would see coins being used as currency for the first time in 20 years. Its always sad when you think about what your country grew up to be.

The Nigeria I grew up in and the Nigeria I left were too different places. The Nigeria I grew up in was beautiful with the prospect of progress. The Nigeria I left was a sinking ship.

It is sad that my home country has become hell. It does not stop me from missing it. No matter how you look at it Nigeria will always be home for me. It was there I played on the street, climbed trees, made friends, grew up and found my love for computers.

This week we celebrated our 53rd independence day. When you really think about it for me and a lot of Nigerians in diaspora, hell is home no matter what.

This is Truston Ailende. I am a member of the Zished Team and this is my 40th day in Kenya.

Leave a Reply

