Scars

kenshiWe all have things in our past that we regret. Wounds that are closed but still hurt. Yet those scars teach us. They are proof that we have survived and are still fighting.

Scars are medals branded on our flesh and hearts. Our enemies who are aware of our scars will be frightened by them because they are proof of our long experience of battle. Often this will lead them to seek dialogue and avoid conflict.

But for those who want a fight, they are also proof that we will not be backing down. My scars give me resolve. I think about what I have lived through and it gives strength to my failing arms. On the days when I think of quitting, all that makes me say not today is the knowledge of what I have already survived.

My scars make me formidable!

Leave a Reply

