Leaving My Comfort Zone

comfort zoneI left Nigeria for Ghana on June 28 2012. Today I have been away for 531 days. It has been a roller coaster. I have slept in some really horrible places and been through hell. Yet my life is better for it.

Today, my only regret is still that I should have started this journey years ago. Last decade when I first caught wanderlust, I should just have left. But then I didn’t. The limits society placed on me still had an effect and I was trying to be a patriot.

Now that ship has sailed. I am a Renegade Knight. I still believe in the ideals that I was raised with but I no longer believe in the world they were made for.

So on that faithful Thursday. I stepped out of that world. I didn’t know what I was doing was impossible so I made it happen. Knowing what I know now, I wouldn’t have made the attempt. I might have stayed in my comfort zone.

By stepping out, I would find a zone where magic happens. I call it Death Ground. There is nothing glorious about it just a man trying to bend the universe to his will. Death Ground requires a deep seated conviction about what is acceptable in one’s life.

In my time away, I have seen the universe bend to my will. Making it rain in the desert always has a price and I have paid my bill in full.

Any fool can learn how to command. True greatness happens when we learn how to conquer. By stepping out of my comfort zone. I learned how to conquer.

My life is richer for the experience.

Leave a Reply

