Global Game Jam Lagos Update

Global Game Jam Logo

Welcome to a new month!

Last month was awesome. I attended my first Global Game Jam. It felt good hanging out with game developers of the future.

Its been 5 years since I created my first game. With certain personal events, I have lost my fire. Being in that room made me remember why I started.

Initially I didn’t want to go as I just wanted to take the weekend off and rest. But fate intervened and I had to go. I missed the Friday session (big mistake) and went on Saturday. For me one day was enough to find my fire again.

The event held at Center 4 Tech. In my 5 years in the industry, I have never visited this venue. A friend assured me that it would be awesome and true to type, the event did not disappoint.

I don’t have the final head count of those who attended but in all 6 games were developed. You can view them here. Yours truly built a simple crossword puzzle with the words that make up ritual. It is called Ritual.

I wanted to build a falling object game. Sadly missing Theme Friday put me way behind of the thought process. So I settled for something simple.

All in all, I had fun. Let’s do it again next year. Special thanks to the guys at Center 4 Tech for making this event happen.

Leave a Reply

